Services for the disabled, or lack thereof

Some people look at services for the disabled as a whole, as well a waste. That the disabled get them and then go back to not working, and or not trying. Relatives of mine, who I shall not name feel this way. A relative of mine even made the statement “well what will they do if Jenny can’t get a job?” In relation to services for the blind.

This upset me not only because it was the first time she talked about me in third person with me also a part of the conversation, but because she assumed because I was disabled I would not get a job. Even a part time one, which for some people a including a few friends of mine that is all they will do, because of their disabilities. Some will get a full time job when they find someone who will hire them for a full time job.

It isn’t about at least in some cases not wanting to but not finding someone who is willing to hire that Autistic girl, the man with the guide dog, or even the woman in the wheelchair. This effects not only how these people feel about themselves, but how they live their lives. SSI, and even SSD is rather hard to live off of, and not be two steps from broke. So why not the disabled who can work want to? The fact is most do.

I thought I should bring up the that depending on where you live depends on how quickly, slowly, or at all in some cases you end up getting the services you need. A friend of mine with a simple black and white eye condition it took him two months to get past the red tape with the services of the blind, he unlike myself had records in hand (I am saying this so you get the difference between him and myself). In Kentucky after three months with doctor records I was still swimming through the red tape, nor do I know how long it would take for me to get past it. A friend of mine in Kansas had no problem getting into the system, but has never gotten the call that she was going to get O&M training, she is legally blind, she ended up choosing to go another route to get it. While I had no records, but in two months have seen a eye doctor, and now am own my way to get my ENA, a step to getting the help I need. I am in Tennessee.

The difference between states like Tennessee, and even Indiana, and places like Kentucky and Kansas? How much of their tax money goes to disability services including services for the blind. This effects the number of people they can hire, and even how many they must suggest going to either school’s for the blind, or rehabilitation centers.

For someone like myself if I had to I could go to a rehabilitation center, I wouldn’t enjoy it (too many people), but being that I have yet to find a job, and  have no children. I have nothing that needs me to be here for the time period I would be there. Though there is a rather high chance I will not. I mainly need O&M training, tech help, and some help re learning how to cook, but this time as someone who is blind.

Now on to the others I have mentioned. My friend in Indiana has a son, a job, and even a guide dog. He mainly needs to brush up on his skills and help with a few intersections. Not really a reason to leave his son,  job, and be put in the position to keep his guide out of work.

While the other in Kansas has a job that is what is known in the horse world mainly as free lancing, but even she could not leave for six to nine months for the touch up with O&M training she use to need. She also has a house and a few dogs. Add in unlike myself she isn’t a teen/twenty something.

So while rehabilitation centers are right as rain for some, I have just given you three examples of people they do not suit, for a variety of different reasons. I am sure there are more. So that means we would need services in our towns, which do tend to cost more. Does this mean that we should not be given the choice to choose because of money? No we are adults even if we are disabled. The answer is to sink more money into these services that do make a difference instead of sinking more money into things that aren’t working, or are failing. And yes that includes adding more and more people to medicaid, because the fact is the more people you put on it, the less doctors take it, because the less you are able to pay them for a visit.

Employers need to be taught that yes the Autistic girl who is stimming can still do the same job as her non disabled counterpart. She will need the accommodations to do it. I am not listing them because they depend on the person they are not as easy to quote from a paper.

Yes the blind man with that guide dog can do the same job, with the technology he needs, and being allow to take his guide dog to work, he needs you to let others know ”don’t  pet the service dog”, that you also need to follow yourself. He also needs you not to make things up when he applies that state that you must be able to do visual things. While you might be able to get away with, it is still against the law.

The woman in the wheelchair needs the ability to access, both the bathroom, and the building itself. She needs you not to make things up that you know are impossible for her to do. She needs you not to see her as a broken person, but someone who does the same work, but maybe a little different.

All disabled need to be looked at as not less than. We need to be seen as people first disabled second. We need more, and in some cases quicker ability to get the services we need. We though do not need to be taken care of. Whether we are able to find/get a job, or not. We are first and foremost still people many don’t remember that.

Leave a Reply

