Why did I fall in love with horses.

I still remember the first time I saw one. The muscles, the power, and at least for me it felt like he could see right through my soul with those deep brown eyes.  That was the day I fell in love with horses, and even after my hiatus from them, and my accident it hasn’t changed.

You see I wasn’t the kid who should have even thought about riding them. I couldn’t see all too well,  poor motor skills, and for as long as I can remember I have had joint pain and dizziness. As all horse people, and some non horse people know this is far from a good combination. Add in didn’t get regular lessons, I was on a runaway train to hurt. Which is what happened, but this isn’t about that.

I feel in love with horses because they allowed me the freedom that my own boots on the ground didn’t. I never could run all that well growing up mainly because of joint pain, but also my dizziness, and the fact I was going to find something, and I mean anything to trip over. My body, and the scars on it still tell that story. But with horses, and I mean well trained ones I wouldn’t trip, and skin my knees. It didn’t matter that I couldn’t see that curb, the pot hole, or even the tree stump (yes I swear I was that bad).

My first true friend was my horse. I had cried so many tears in his flaxen mane, and his chestnut coat. I told that wonderful same as me age horse everything about me and my life, until the last time I had saw him, and right before he was sold.

Thinking about my Charlie, he will forever be my Charlie, brings tears to my eyes. I have no photos of him anymore they were left behind with my mother. To be honest I don’t know who I would be with that chestnut pony.

Growing up I dreamed of doing something in involving horses. Mainly truly, even though it was a penniless profession teach people to ride and train horses. The other things that had crossed my mind was being a vet, working for horse feed companies, working for a breed registry, and the latter two is still possible.

For as long as I can remember I have considered myself a horsewomen, and I have been proud of that fact. The hard work, early morning, late nights, and yes the times that made me want to throw up my hands have made me who I am, and yes I am proud to be the forever a horse girl, but in the future I plan on being more careful, and think about it before jumping in head first. And if you listen to only one thing and I mean one thing please listen to this if you ever ride a horse wear a proper riding helmet. I will save the pain and trouble I have been through.

Leave a Reply

